Add to favourites





Making the breakthrough into the world of the drum & bass MC is no small task, yet SP:MC has managed to establish himself as one of the busiest & most innovative on the circuit. Host of choice for the likes of Friction, dBridge and Instra:mental, his distinctive yet versatile style has also made him a favourite with top dubstep DJs such as Youngsta, Skream and Benga. He’s also proved to be a talented producer in his own right with releases on Tempa, Shogun and Exit (as Code 3, with Jubei & Dakuan). There’s more to come in 2011 with a Code 3 single set for Critical plus collaborations with Ulterior Motive and Fracture & Neptune in the works.

SP:MC’s first break came after MC GQ heard one of his early mixtapes [with DJ Jubei] & made them residents at his own monthly Emcee Sessions event at Digwalls in Camden. He has close ties with Shogun Audio [after touring extensively with DJ Friction], & Exit Records/Autonomic after becoming the MC of choice for dBridge & Instra:mental. He has also represented for labels as diverse as Renegade Hardware, Commercial Suicide, Hospital, Prototype, Bassbin, Good Looking, Metalheadz, Valve, Quarantine, Digital Soundboy, Symmetry, Soul:R, Innerground, DNAudio, Tempa & 3024.

Versatility & quality control are a guarantee when SP's in the building. He cites MC GQ, Dynamite & Conrad as early influences. 2003 saw him nominated for 'Best Breakthrough MC' at the Knowledge D&B Awards [alongside Eksman & Armarnni Reign] He was then nominated for 'Best MC' [alongside Eksman & Skibadee] at BBC 1Xtra's XtraBass Awards in March 2007, & again nominated for 'Best MC' at the D&B Arena Awards in August 2009 & December 2010.

If a diary bulging with gigs wasn't enough, he then started to produce tracks in 2005. Collaborations with Breakage ['Shadow' on Breakage's debut LP, and 'The Lurgie' on Shogun Audio] set the standard, followed by tracks with fellow MC Verse ['Surrender', 'Border Patrol', & 'Lost Souls']. 2008 saw his monstrous dubstep track 'Trust Nobody', released on the infamous Tempa imprint, to widespread acclaim. 2009 saw Code 3 [consisting of long time friends SP, Jubei & Dakuan] release their debut 12", 'Delta' and 'Escape Hatch' on Shogun Ltd. 'Payload' also by the trio, followed soon after on Coded Music. Late that year he released a follow-up 12" on Tempa ['Taiko Dub' & 'Bad Dreams' with Joker D]. A Code 3 release on dBridge's label Exit Records ['Living Proof' backed with 'Response Call'] landed early 2010, followed by SP & Youngsta‘s collaboration 'Unidentified' on Kryptic Minds’ Osiris Music imprint.

Keeping up the pressure in 2011, SP drops another 12" for Tempa alongside LX One ['Down' backed with 'Judgement'] whilst Code 3’s 'Chasm' features on the Exit Records 'Mosaic Vol. 1’ compilation. Look out for more from Code 3, with a single set for release on Critical plus collaborations with Ulterior Motive and Fracture & Neptune in the works.